Clean Air Awards

Beth Annon, Chad Carlock and Willa Pettygrove in attendance
at the May 12, 2003 American Lung Association Clean Air Awards Luncheon.
Ms. Annon was nominated as a Clean Air Hero for her community involvement
through her bike shop, B & L Bike Shop, in Davis. 

Three Swingin' Cats

Members of the Yolo TMA recently attended a Sacramento River Cats baseball game on 
Try Transit Night, May 12, 2003.  Pictured above are 3 swinging' cats, TMA President Chad Carlock, on the left, 
River Cats Mascot "Dinger" and TMA Director, Bill Fairbairn.

Yolo TMA Rewards Bike-to-Work Day Participants
The Yolo Transportation Management Association recently selected winners from a pool of local participants who pedaled to work during last month's California Bike-to-Work Day. Some cities around the state had a handful of riders, other dozens. Davis, being the unofficial bike capitol of the nation, drew hundreds.

The Yolo TMA's current president, Davis attorney Chad Carlock, noted, "once again, the turnout from cyclists in Davis and surrounding areas, as well as support from the local business community, really made Bike-to-Work Day successful. This was one more day where we see the many rewards of a community effort to build a biking infrastructure making it convenient and safe to get people out of their cars and onto their bikes." 

Locally, the featured event was the annual "Biker's Breakfast," held at Davis' Central Park on May 15th, with additional "energizer stations" at B & L Bike Shop in Davis and Foy's Bike Shop in Woodland. Of the over 200 riders who filled out entries for a chance to win prizes, six were selected to receive $25 gift certificates to B & L Bike Shop in Davis. Winners were: Barry Bolden, Rene Toledo, Tawny Yambovich, Jason Webber, Linda Brandt and Kira Farnham.

Primary event sponsors were the Yolo TMA, City of Davis and UC Davis. Other contributors included the ASUCD Bike Barn, B & L Bike Shop, Ken's Bike & Ski, Davis Farmers Market, Davis Food Co-op, Noah's Bagels, Peet's Coffee, the Sacramento Area Council of Governments, Sodexho USA and Yolo-Solano AQMD. 

                                      Bike to Work Day Certificate Winners

Kira Fanham, Beth Annon (Treasurer, Yolo TMA )
Chad Carlock (President, Yolo TMA ), Linda Brant 
and Tawny Yambovich
Chad Carlock, Barry Bolden and Beth Annon